Mochi is a traditional Japanese snack composed of a sticky rice cake made with glutinous rice called mochigome. Despite the presence of this glutinous rice, mochi are gluten free unless otherwise indicated and are often vegan depending on the filling. The Japanese word mochimochi translates to “chewy,” “springy,” or “elastic” which all accurately describe the unique texture of mochi. Mochi are a traditional Japanese snack to celebrate the new year because they are symbolic for holding on to good luck, but they are also enjoyed all-year round and have become a popular snack outside of Japan. There are many different types of mochi and different methods for making mochi, which makes sense because mochi is such a wonderful vehicle for a variety of flavors and textures. Mochi are known for being colorful, typically sweet, and filled with something like jelly, bean paste, or even ice cream!